So I Went To…Africa at Spitalfields

IMG_1887Hello beautiful people!!! Something a little different from my weekly ramble for a change, instead I’m going to tell you ALL about my day out to Africa at Spitalfields.

I have to tell you, there was definitely something different about this bank holiday Monday, the Sun was out for a first and it wasn’t raining! I don’t think I can ever recall that happening in all my many years in London, so give thanks to God(on my behalf please lol) for a beautiful day out in the sun.

So, I set out to the venue, driving down the A13 blasting some old school 90s slow jams with my trusted bestie Abi (cue track—>’Where my girls at’ by 702—> Bust out Hairbrush microphones). We had to take full advantage of the little sun we were given!lol). My other friend calls asking ‘How do I get there from Liverpool Street station?’ I said ‘Follow the noise of talking drums and the smell of spicy chicken’. That was the best way to describe the essence of the entrance to this Afrofusion Narnia. Live performers, storytellers, dancers (you could brush up on your skills too), networking, with loads to buy too! Name it, it was there! I was in awe of the ankara teddy bears by Shola Yissau and the House of Loulee ankara baby grows (no, I am not broody lol), and don’t even get me started on Bespoke Binney’s gorgeous homeware. Africa at Spitalfields took me back to the motherland and exposed non-Africans to the colourful, rich and vibrant culture Africa has to offer.

Anyway, enough from me, see it for yourself πŸ˜€

Shola Yissau
Shola Yissau
Bespoke Binny Homeware
Bespoke Binny Homeware
Love Chin Chin
Love Chin Chin
IMG_1873

House of Loulee
House of Loulee
IMG_1844

IMG_1938

 

Zoe's Ghana Kitchen
Zoe’s Ghana Kitchen
Chunkey Necklace
Chunkey Necklace
Intoxyque
Intoxyque
IMG_1843

Victoria  Akagwu and Jessica Laditan, founders of Africa at Spitalfields
Victoria Akagwu and Jessica Laditan, founders of Africa at Spitalfields
Baked by Esther
Baked by Esther
IMG_1940

IMG_1852
Path to Possibilities

Couldn't miss taking pics with the Pop Up Africa Photo Frame Fame
Couldn’t miss taking pics with the Pop Up Africa Photo Frame Fame
And the founders had to showcase their Shoki 'skills' lol

And the founders had to showcase their Shoki ‘skills’ lol

Word is, the girls have already started planning the next event, so don’t hear how it went from me next time, see it for yourself live!

Follow Africa at Spitalfields on the handles below:

Instagram: @africaatspitalfields

Facebook:   Africa at Spitalfields

Website:      www.spitalfields.co.uk

Till next week sweets

Miss Mimi x

Leave a Reply

