My last year on Earth…

Image courtesy of Bohemianclass.wordpress.com
Image courtesy of Bohemianclass.wordpress.com

Considering my last post was called ‘My 29th year on Earth…’ this sounds quite at odds with it and morbid right? Lol! I actually had a different topic ready for this post until I watched a thought-provoking video this morning by one of my favourite bloggers, Sisi Yemmie, titled ‘The one thing I’ll do in 2017’. Check it out if you haven’t watched it! (Yes this is a plug as I’m a huge fan although she doesn’t know me at all lol).

So in this video, her main questions to herself and her viewers were ‘If this was your last year on Earth, what would you do? What impact would you have made? What legacy would you have left behind?’. Obviously this got me thinking deeply, because frankly, although we all spent the end of 2016 reflecting and preparing to set ourselves goals and higher standards for 2017, it’s very easy to lose motivation, even if it’s for an hour and I needed that kick back into motion. I know what I would like to do, I know what impact I would like to have made and what legacy I want to leave but I need to do it! Or keep doing it rather…

“When there is a mountain in your path, do not sit down at its foot and cry, get up and climb it- Zimbabwean proverb”

Here are a few things that have helped me to stay on track (as much as possible):

  1.  Physically writing out my plans for my long term and short term goals with the help of these great FREE printable goal setting sheets on Finallyfiona.com. As they always say, a goal without a plan is a wish…So anytime I forget what I need to do to achieve these goals, or why it is important to me to achieve them, I simply look at the sheets, not under my bed sheets and all is well with my world 🙂
  2. The free printables also included a habit tracker which allowed me to make a list of the habits I want to incorporate into my daily lifestyle with a tick sheet for when each habit has been achieved. This way, I’m able to actually see what my day is looking like, what I need to do more of to get where I want to head to and what needs to be prioritised.
  3. Inspiration podcasts and videos! I’ve made it a task to make the first thing, I watch after my fitness video (that’s another post all together!) a TedX talk or motivational podcast/video. It gets me going for the day, and puts me in the mood to work hard  and achieve my goals.

By creating a strict morning schedule for myself and prioritising my most important tasks for the morning, I’m less likely to go off track, at least until midday lol. But it won’t be as bad by then because I would have ticked off so many tasks by that time right? Great train of thought I learnt from motivational speaker and minister Terri Savelle Foy in her video ‘5 things successful people do before 8am’.

I’m trying all of this out, training myself as, if you know me well, you’ll know I love my sleep, so waking up early is a huge task for me! BUT…I’m noticing a difference, seeing progress and can’t wait to see the outcome!

Let me know how your 2017 is going so far below. What are your plans to stay motivated and achieve those goals this year? Would love to hear from you 🙂

 

5 Replies to “My last year on Earth…”

  1. I love sleeping so much, I wish I could do it for a living.

    I hope to be stable career-wise this year, or at least, way more stable than 2016. I also hope to write more on my personal blog (Amen). The year looks good already, I hope it gets better.

    Per writing goals and plans, I never do that, I think I will, seeing as it seems to work for many people. And yes! Podcasts work, I have a podcast junkie as friend, I plan to be like him this year.

    Lastly, I’m looking to take online courses this year, I just realised there are lots of them on the internet.

    Above all, I hope to be more disciplined this year, none of these will see the light of day without discipline.

    Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m trying out podcasts for the first time too but it seems to be making a huge impact so far!

      Great to hear your plans and goals for the year, you should definitely print off those plan sheets, they’re sooo helpful! Best of luck and happy new year to you too!

      Like

    1. Yayyy!! Sisi Yemmie commented on my blog! 🙂

      The printables are amazing and soooo useful, particularly the Habit Tracker, great for helping me check that my behaviourals are in line with my goals.

      Happy new year to you too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

