The 7-Day Detox Series: Day Seven (The Finale)

I am proud to announce to you that I have SUCCESSFULLY completed my 7-day detox!!! *crowd applause* Thank you, thank you!

And I didn’t cheat, not even once!

But it wasn’t easy, at alll. To go without salt, red or white meat, sugar, coffee and most carbs? It was a struggle. But I knew what my end goal was so I kept on pushing and I’m happy I did.

My last day went quite ok, probably because I could see the finish line. Plus we made sure we had meals that we would genuinely enjoy.

Breakfast

Started my day with my trusty oats, but jazzed it up a little by adding some ginger, cinnamon and honey to the mix and topping it with bananas, cranberries, raisins and natural yoghurt. Yummm!!! I’m looking forward to having it with milk too hehe.

Lunch

I was inspired by my lunch yesterday so decided to fry some prawns in a little olive oil with garlic, ginger and yellow pepper and added it to a lettuce, sweetcorn, carrot and cucumber with a white wine vinegar dressing. Wish I’d thought of this earlier in the week. It was delicious!

Dinner

To end my detox, we had a sweet and sour sauce made up of corn, pineapples, mushrooms, onions, peppers, honey and tomatoes served with brown rice. I didn’t even mind that there was no meat. Quite enjoyed it!

I’m definitely looking forward to going back to a few of my old meals, but I will be making a lot of adjustments. Firstly I’ve realised that I don’t need as much salt as I’m used to having and I’ll try to slowly wean myself off seasoning cubes, so no more Maggi, Knorr or Royco cubes again, hopefully lol. I’ll try to use far less oil in my food and more olive oil and coconut oil instead of just vegetable oil. I also have a LOT of meat and not enough fish so that’s going to have to change.

Overall, I’m happy that I did this detox, I feel so much lighter and healthier. I did break out a little but that’s probably my skin getting used to this new diet. I may do it again in the near future just to have a good cleanse and I’d definitely recommend it.

If you’ve been following my detox series and want any of the recipes, leave a comment below and I’ll be glad to share it with you.

More good news for you – because I actually enjoyed these daily posts, I’ve decided to up my blog posts to 2x a week! So instead of your weekly Friday posts, I’ll be sharing new posts on Wednesdays and Fridays!!

Anyway, it’s bed time now, thanks for reading and have a great week guys x

Leave a Reply

