12 Random Facts About Me

Not exactly starting off on a good note as this post was meant to come out yesterday but I was Easter hosting so forgive me please. I’ll try not to let it happen again.

I hope you all had an amazing Easter and remember the reason for the season. So in the spirit of Easter and new beginnings, I thought I’d take it back to the basics and reintroduce myself in a less normal way, because I’m not exactly the most normal person which you may have guessed by now haha.

So here are 12 random facts about me…

  1. I didn’t star talking until I was about four…

    As much as I talk this is probably hard to believe but it’s very much true lol. Apparently I didn’t say a word but I would act out A LOT (I was even banned from the doctor’s surgery, the doctor would have to do home visits because of my terrible behaviour…). Because I couldn’t express myself verbally, the only other option was to be physical I guess…. My mum got so worried and started taking me to speech therapists for help when I was around four and before we got deep into the sessions, I just started talking, so she says. I was the best behaved child from then on, well until I hit my teens that is…


  2. I hate avocado

    I just can’t fathom why anyone would find it tasty. I actually find it repulsive, like I can’t even sit next to anyone eating avocado. I hate the smell and the texture. I’ve been called strange for this on many occasions but yeah, I hate avocado.


  3. My guilty pleasure is trash Reality TV

    Not sure whether this will come as a surprise to anyone but in my downtime I LOVE watching trash television. Real Housewives of Atlanta and Potomac, Basketball Wives LA, Married to Medicine, Love and Hip Hop New York, Atlanta and Hollywood, I love them all. I’m judging them as I’m watching them but I should probably judge myself more for watching it lol.


  4. I ORiginate from Ogoni, Rivers state, Nigeria

    Yes I had to add Nigeria as not all of my readers are Nigerian so may not know where Rivers state is. So I was born and raised in London but both parents are from the oil rich land of Ogoni. (Never heard of it? Think Ken Saro Wiwa and footballer Joseph Yobo…). I first visited Nigeria when I was 10 years old and my mum made it her mission for us to make annual trips home to get me more familiarised with my culture and people. Guess it worked. But that brings me to my next point…


  5. I can’t speak my mother tongue

    Didn’t really see this as a problem until I first visited Nigeria when I was 10. We only spoke English at home, my mother didn’t speak any other language to me so of course I won’t magically start speaking this language that I’ve never been taught. But with the help of my grandma, who wasn’t amused at all, Β I can hear quite a bit of my mother tongue now (which is Khana, sorry should have said that earlier lol). She made it her mission to get me to understand it. I can string a few sentences together, sounds funny with my British accent so I don’t bother, but most importantly I can understand most of the language now. So they can’t insult me or talk about me in front of me without me knowing even though some still try…) so yayyy me!


  6. I’ve never been fired

    That’s a good thing right? lol. I’ve always been the one to resign and never on a bad note thankfully…apart from one occasion which shall not be talked about hehe. That’s a story for another day maybe.


  7. I’m an only child

    If you’re not new to the blog then you probably know this. If you are then have a read of my post on life as an only child.


  8. i have a huge fear for needles

    Of course I know I’m not alone here but I still think my case is special. Needles are literally my worst nightmare. I have to be super ill before I get any sort of injection. It’s this same fear that’s stopped me from getting a tattoo, something I’ve always wanted to do lol. I don’t even know how I got my multiple ear piercings. I’m better than I was like five years ago but I still get freaked out at the sight of a needle.


  9. I’m not a big fan of EVERyday casual phone calls

    I don’t mind the occasional long phone call with my girls, like once a week or other every other week to catch up. But to talk on the phone everyday just because? Not me at all. I used to be able to sit on the phone all day, every day, but it bores me now. I just see that as time that could easily be spent doing something productive, or I’d even prefer to actually hang out with you. As we’ve gotten older, life has obviously gotten busier as we have more responsibilities. Luckily I’m blessed to have friends who don’t measure the strength of our friendship by how often we speak because they know that when we do, it’s just like we never left each other and it’s allllll love!


  10. I’m a bit of a neat freak

    Major reason why I couldn’t go into something like Big Brother (for my Nigerian readers – I get where TBoss was coming from SOMETIMES). It bugs me when people don’t clean up after themselves, especially if I’ve just cleaned up. I find it hard to ignore when people don’t flush the toilet after they’re done, leave the sink dirty, just generally leave the place I’m sharing with them in a state. I just can’t understand why it is so difficult for you to wash a plate that you’ve used, particularly when you’re not living alone, it bugs the hell out of me. The only person that I can ever make an exception for is my husband lol.


  11. I can’t WHistle

    This has always bugged me and so many people have tried to teach me but sadly to no avail…hopefully one day I’ll be able to…


  12. I really want to explore Africa

    I’ve been to quite a few parts of the world luckily enough – Asia, UAE, Europe, North America and Africa of course. But I’ve actually seen more of the other continents than I have of my motherland Africa. I can only tick off Nigeria and Ghana from my list. I really want to travel across Africa and go to places Kenya, Rwanda, Botswana, Guinea, South Africa. So that’s my goal for my next holiday destinations :-).

So there you have it, 12 things you may not have known about me.

So now it’s your turn! Tell me in the comments. Can you relate to any of my 12 random facts? What do most people not know about you?

Yes I’m being nosey, it’s allowed πŸ™‚

2 Replies to “12 Random Facts About Me”

  1. I love this kind of posts. Nice one.
    We’ve got few similarities.
    *I’m from Rivers State -Okrika
    *Also an only child.
    *Despite being born and bred in ph, I Can’t speak my mother tongue. It wasn’t spoken to me growing up. It’s in this old age started consciously picking up somethings
    * I don’t like everyday casual calls too.

    One more random fact about me…i love books and reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

